top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Kelly Arlotta

2024 National Cancer Survivors Day

Almost 6 years ago, cancer came into my life, growling like a crazed tiger. It pounced on my life, creating new fears and a new way of living. 18 months later, after knocking things around just as a cat would knock things off f a shelf, it sauntered out of my life.

 

Each year, my cancerversary would quietly creep up, coinciding with all sorts of medical appointments. What should be a time for celebration was usually filled with angst and trepidation. Yet, each year, I would do something to celebrate myself.

 

My five-year cancer came and went with barely a whisper. I was busy. I thought long and hard about what I could do for my five years. It was a big one, but it slipped by anyway. HER2 cancer is a bad one, not that any are good. Up until 20 years ago, having my diagnosis was basically an automatic death sentence. There was no hope for us. We have two powerful targeted therapies that have changed the game and given us hope and a future. There are several new therapies making great strides as well. Making it to the five-year mark used to be unheard of. Now, it’s becoming more and more real for us. It is a big deal to make it to this point. And here I am, speeding towards my six year anniversary.

 

We definitely should toot our own horns, ring our own bells, and celebrate our accomplishments… And yes, surviving cancer is an accomplishment, no matter where you are in the journey.

 

Celebrating things that we have done, no matter how small it may seem to others, can help reframe our mindset. Maybe you’ve learned a new role, a new skill set or stepped out of your comfort zone… These are things that should be celebrated. Acknowledge what you have done. Acknowledge just how capable you are. In turn, this may give you the courage to push forward and try something else new and grow.

 

Wonderful things can begin when we start to see just how worthy we are of celebrating ourselves. It can boost our self esteem and help empower us. It can bring us happiness. Those things are important to our survivorship.

  

Last year, I told myself, I gave myself the gifts of possibility and opportunity. I have taken on new roles and challenges. I usually have no idea what I am doing, but I am learning and I am growing, and definitely laughing! . I’ve given myself the opportunity to be a part of something bigger than just myself. As a result, I have actually given myself the most profound gift of all… Friendship.

 

Today is National Cancer Survivors Day. Once diagnosed, one immediately becomes a survivor. It doesn’t matter the stage nor where you are in the journey. What does matter is that we celebrate ourselves and each other. I’ve learned from pink sisters that paved the way with possibilities and I hope to continue helping those who are just starting this murky journey…




19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2018 by Adding By Subtraction. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook
bottom of page