top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Kelly Arlotta

Rabbit Hole Revisited…


It’s still breast cancer awareness month and having Suzanne Somers pass away last week hit hard. I know she had cancers decades ago and recall seeing her post about it being back. Enter Rabbit Hole…although not a healthy place to be, perfectly normal reaction. I know I’m not the only pink sister out there who traveled down that tunnel and keeps revisiting the destination.



I read she HAD breast cancer in 2000, found by a mammogram. She willingly chose to not have chemotherapy (WT ever loving F?) but looked to alternative therapies to treat breast cancer. Turns out she had a lumpectomy and radiation along with some holistic practices. She claimed to be ‘cancer free.’ Yet, I’ve read reports that said she battled the disease on and off for 23 years. It was an aggressive for of cancer. In my mind, she was in remission but now I’m not so sure.



If you’re a pinkie like me, you know what I want to know…dammit! Was it HER2 enriched (like mine), triple positive, triple negative (that’s an asshole cancer that they still don’t know the motivation for) or just hormone receptor positive. Please don’t halfway tell me. Being upfront about my own journey, I hope it answers other women’s questions and give some peace and hope. Let’s face it ladies, we’ve all got boobs, let’s not be timid about tata talks. We can save lives with honesty.



For many many nights in a row, I’ve read every single article written about her, her life and career and her journey with multiple cancers. I can’t help but wonder if there was a predisposition towards mutations as it all started while she was very young. The world lost a charming actress with a kind spirit (and brilliant mind for business). Cancer sucks.



Anyway, I may never know just what kind of receptor her breast cancer was. That does bother me, since I have my own history of cancer. But, my story is not mine alone. My story is made of the stories of other women who shared their experiences and knowledge before me. I gratefully took their wisdom to help me survive. I share my stories with some wisdom and humor to hopefully keep someone from traveling down the perpetual rabbit holes that keep popping up. If you’re looking for me, I’ll be in that hole for a while longer…send snacks

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2018 by Adding By Subtraction. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook
bottom of page