top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Kelly Arlotta

Resolve Over Resolution

Pink has always been a color of happiness and good health to me, long before cancer came into my life. It still is the color of happiness and health. Brasilians tend to wear pink on New Year’s Eve as a way to influence what the new year will bring. White symbolizes peace and tranquility while wearing pink brings in good luck. I’m a fan of wearing both.


New Year’s Eve is typically when we hear all about everyone’s resolutions. I promise you, I don’t have one. I never have, never will. I’m a firm believer in just getting shit done. Cancer reaffirmed that. Why wait til Mondays to start eating better, why wait til spring to get a summer body, why wait til New Years to promise to treat yourself better. Seriously. Just do it. I tweak my life as I go and the calendar has no bearing on when I chose to do things. We are never promised tomorrow so it’s normally best to not wait.


This has been a good year. My kids have returned to in person learning, with safety precautions in place. Both sons have learners permits and are driving my old car. Secretly, I’m loving the fact they have a non-descript old lady car! I managed to get a new car, definitely outside the normal frugal realm of cars for me! We are all healthy and together. That is what is most important to me. Life outside my little bubble can wait til things out there get better.


I thought we were on the verge of normalcy but omicron said “hold my beer.” I left my little cave a few times within the last year to get some things done (a pedicure, car buying, museum, etc) but back into it I go. Don’t get me wrong, my numbers are not awful but they are nowhere where they used to be, all to be expected. The fallacy of chemo patients returning to who they once were needs to stop, for our sakes. Some parts of us are indeed new and improved, sometimes bionic, but other parts are hanging like a sloth. It’s ok. I do what I need to in order to protect myself and family through this latest wave, and it’s going to get bumpy when the kids return to school again, like last August. I have no complaints about this last year. It’s been good for me and feel as though I’ve been able to do much of what my heart wanted to, aside from getting a tattoo. That needs to happen!!


With the new year just hours away, think about what you want for yourself and make plans for it to happen, manifest your wishes. Resolve to take care of your health and the health of those you love. Keep yourself safe, protect those you love. Stay on top of your medical appointments and encourage all of those around you to do the same. My resolve is what got me through my diagnosis and treatments.

While we are not promised any tomorrows, we can indeed do things to ensure our chances of having many of them. Cheers to health and happiness to everyone, everywhere…y’all know I’m gonna be wearing pink and white tonight!


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2018 by Adding By Subtraction. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook
bottom of page