top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Kelly Arlotta

Quarantine Life


People all around me are doing what they can to not catch this virus as the implications can be lethal. First timers. I’m a pro. But it’s different this time for me, Last year, I was the only one self quarantining as you all could have spread something to me and killed me. I was still able to go to the cancer center, doctor’s appointments and physical therapy. I had some freedom to move about. Now I have none. This is more serious to me and I don’t take it lightly.


I am home with my teenagers and husband. They have their own things to do during the day time, whether it be virtual learning or in my husband’s case, continuing to support his teachers and students. I’ve got my own stuff to do that keeps me occupied until they are all done, but then what?


We are together. Does it really matter if we cannot go somewhere? We are home, healthy and happy. There is no need to drive to a park or other neighborhood to walk. We stroll around my neighborhood, hang out on the deck or patio when it is nice, play video games, watch movies or television. We have food, heat, running water, shelter in a home we love. It’s as though a pause button has been hit in the world and we can refocus on our families and I love that part of this.


I stopped going to the gym before they were ordered to close. I saw this coming and got a head start. So far, I have missed a few doctor appointments and that makes me nervous as a newly released cancer patient. I got released into this. Sometimes, I want to go back. Follow up appointments after completing treatment are important. I cannot go to physical therapy, even though I need it. I have lost significant usage of both of my arms now. I cannot scratch my back. T-Rex arms are back but this time they bring pain. I try to do what I can while I am home but it is definitely not the same as having a professional work with you. I’ve lost my gains and that is a huge blow to me. This shut down is an inconvenience to everyone. For people like me, it’s horrid and we are dependent on everyone to do the right thing.


This is all temporary. We will be released back into our regular lives at some point. Patience is something that seems to be running low in a lot of people. I get it. I’d like to be able to get out and do things as well but this is serious. We have been asked to do something that is inconvenient and perhaps uncomfortable. We are called upon at various times to make sacrifices in our lives and this is a huge one. Take it seriously. People like me are relying on the rest of the world to do so.


Make quarantine life different and fun when you can. Eat in a different room or outside when you can, watch movies with your families, spend time with your kids. Do things you would not ordinarily do. There’s plenty of time to do the things we always said we would if we had more time. Maybe this is the pause button for our lives. What if all of this is not to point out what we can no longer do but it presents us with more opportunities to focus on what we really do have in life?



71 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page