top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Kelly Arlotta

…I’ve Got Bones to Build…

The months of October and November were busy with medical appointments and tests for me, one of them being the DEXA-bone density-scan.  My baseline scan was in 2014 and I was found to be in the very early stages of osteopenia. I shrugged that off and forgot all about it. Two years passed, it remained unchanged but at that time, I was determined to try and change it. I changed my diet by incorporating calcium rich veggies and adding greek yogurt to my diet. I also started utilizing weights more and took challenging classes at the gym. When 2018 rolled around and the results were back, I was pleasantly surprised, I increased my bone density by 7.3%. Too bad that was overshadowed by my boob trying to kill me! My most recent scan was in October and the results were not so good. What changed? Chemotherapy and chemopause caused a decrease in my density. The gift that keeps on taking!

 

So what does Chemotherapy and cancer have to do with bone density? Turns out to be a whole lot more than I thought!

 

Like all cells in our bodies, bone cells die and get replenished through cellular reproduction. New bone cells form (called ossification), get older and then our bodies reabsorb them. If the rate of making and absorption remain the same, nothing changes. As we age, the rate of making them slows down a bit, more gets reabsorbed than made and as a result, density decreases. This normal slow down is gradual. Let’s toss in some strong ass chemo that kills replicating cells, good ones and cancer ones alike. Now there’s more of a loss and faster…but wait, there’s an evil plot twist coming here…chemopause…because cancer and chemotherapy aren’t awful enough!


Doxorubicin and cytoxan together (lovingly called the red devil) put me into chemopause. Being one of the strongest chemotherapy agents out there, doxorubicin, simply shuts down the ovaries, stopping hormone production. The loss of estrogen in our bodies can cause a loss in bone density. It’s a powerful combination that wipes out cancer but leaves a trail of destruction in its wake.


I wish I could say I was right back to where I was in 2014 but no, I can’t. My bones took a hit. I lost more than the 7.3% density that I had gained. I sit teetering on the fine line between osteopenia and osteoporosis.


SO...what am I gonna do now? I wallowed and was angry for a few days but picked myself up and decided I am going to give myself a chance at fixing this again naturally. 


I already know that exercising regularly helps build bone mass but I already do this. Like muscles, new bone forms after we “stress” it a bit through exercise. I’m going to call some bone cells to parts of my body through using weights in my exercises that I do normally. My squats and lunges shall use weights. I’m thinking of bringing back the burpee in full force. Hopefully this will trigger my bone cells into producing some proteins/collagen, which kicks off the building of density in my bones. This happens as the proteins mineralize and harden.


I am now more aware of foods rich in calcium, magnesium, vitamin D, and vitamin K2.  Vitamin D and K helps the body absorb calcium from foods. I get mine through sunlight when I run and my levels in my body are quite good, so thankfully, no worries there. Dark green leafy vegetables, lean proteins, eggs and some additional dairy should help me somewhat. Increasing calcium naturally doesn’t have the same risks as taking supplements. In fact, doing this through food won’t have any adverse effects. Before you ask, I got the go ahead from my primary care physician to give this a shot.

 

     Navigating life after cancer is a bit bumpy and new things constantly come my way. There have been times during this crazy and complicated journey that I’ve felt feel sorry for myself. That’s normal, and a natural reaction to all of the horrid things that can come my way.  I’ve learned that although I cannot control the things that come speeding at me, I can control how I approach them. I have also learned to allow myself the time I need to be utterly devastated or annoyed (sometimes both), feeling all the feels I need, and then pick myself up and come up with a plan. The key is to ask all of the questions one may have and then some. Email through portals additional things, read all of the information as well. Knowledge is key in all things medical…now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got bones to build...


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page