top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Kelly Arlotta

Let the Sun Shine In

Often times, I am intrigued at how my cells just woke up one day and decided to run amuck in my body. As a result, I’m very vigilante about getting regular screenings for pretty much everything. That means it feels as though I am in and out of various doctors’ offices on a monthly basis. It’s fine. It means I’m on top of things now. I don’t put off appointments. Women are often guilty of placing their own health on the backburner when there are families involved.

Since my very early 30’s I have been getting skin cancer screenings at a dermatologist. Never too early to start plus it is good to have a dermatologist you trust for skin issues that can arise. I’m not a sun person. I don’t like tans nor tan lines. I don’t like to sweat but my hot flashes from hell don’t GAF. If I am outside, I’m coated in sunscreen, even for my 7:30am runs. I run before the UV is at its strongest. I do what I can to avoid any pigmentation however, I do have the funkiest running shorts tan lines ever. I am working on getting that to fade a bit by upping my game of sunscreen which hopefully causes a little tan fade.


Being outdoors and getting some sunlight is indeed good for us. When our skin is exposed to UVB rays from the sun, our bodies start a conversion process leading to the production of Vitamin D3. Vitamin D helps our bodies absorb calcium for our bones. I am outdoors quite a bit but sunscreen inhibits this production of vitamin D. Regardless, I was happy to find out my vitamin D levels are in a great range, no supplements needed here. I plan on keeping it that way. Apparently, I get enough of it through diet, so I’m good.



I was definitely nervous and stressed about getting my annual skin cancer screening. I think any type of a cancer screening after being diagnosed with one and having 16 months of treatments will automatically give me pause and get me stressed. My skin and are all fine. No changes, nothing bad going on at all. In fact, my skin is actually great for my age, minimal aging going on! Whew! Being outdoors as much as I am usually worries me. Does the fact that I’ve already had one bout of aggressive cancer make me prone to another like skin cancer? Turns out, no, it doesn’t.

I read an article in passing the other day about the link between breast cancer and the sun. This led me down the rabbit hole of reading many articles. It wasn’t what I had expected at all. Turns out, being outdoors and having sun exposure for an hour per day can help lower the risk if breast cancer. Well, too late for me obviously, but still intriguing. I can’t help but wonder if it has more to do with lifestyle that just plain exposure. Are people who spend an hour outdoors generally healthier or more active? Is that the key? Research doesn’t say just yet. I do plan on staying as active as I can outdoors for as long as I can. I am embracing living a healthy life.

So, here’s my skinny on skin. Take care of it. Don’t abuse it. Wear sunscreen, moisturize, hydrate from within and minimize UV exposures. Be in the beautiful outdoors, breathing in that wonderful air and feeling the warmth of the sun on your skin-but do it safely.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page