top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Kelly Arlotta

Two Years


A lot has changed in two years.  October has a whole new meaning to me now.  I don’t mind all of the pink ribbons everywhere.  Hell, I’d like a tiny one tattooed on me but that will have to wait a bit longer. Breast cancer awareness is more than just October.  For me, it is a daily occurrence when I see this grey haired person looking back from my reflection in the mirror.


October brings about Breast Cancer Awareness month.  Everything is pink everywhere.  I like it.  Pink is pretty in a world that is not.  Breast cancer is not just one disease.  It’s many under an umbrella of called breast cancer.  None of them are good, I assure you.  Even though there have been many advances in research that has put out many new treatments, it’s still cancer and it sucks…and it’s not pretty.


Early detection is key.  Check them and check them often.  Some are fast growing.  Get screened.  Honestly, ladies, we have no excuse not be seen by someone.  Between getting a mammogram, regular physical and a visit to the obgyn, that’s three major medical opportunities to pick up on any changes.  There are programs that provide funding for screenings.  Message me if you need help finding them.

The sea of pink we see everywhere should not only be about awareness and early detection.   It should also be about celebrating breast cancer survivors and their strength.  When I was first diagnosed, I looked to them for hope and guidance.  Listen to their stories for we all have them. 

Surviving breast cancer changes your life forever.  Diagnosis, treatments and life afterwards takes a toll on us mentally and physically.  I went into this thinking my life would go back to the way it was afterwards.  That’s so far from reality.  The world goes on and sometimes it’s really hard to keep up. 


Moving at the end of treatment was a huge welcome change.  I associated my old couch with sleeping off the chemo weariness after 72 hours passed from infusion, my kitchen table bought forth the vision of my chemo protocol pills.  My sons bathroom was a painful reminder of the day I lost all of my hair as well as the unfortunate shower curtain incident.  Cold weather was tough as I would just ache like crazy the last two winters.  A new beginning was needed but it has its own set of challenges.


I have an oncology team in place here but I am still unsettled on a primary care physician for myself.  It took around three months to put it together so I’m not rushing this either. I did happen to find a lovely immedicenter nearby with excellent care. It came in handy when I got tendinitis on my pinky.  Getting a flu shot down here was a little ridiculous though but all four of us got one already.


Life in Florida is indeed different. Let’s just say “Florida man” stories are real!  Some people don’t wear masks and playfully jeer at those of us who do.  That makes going anywhere a challenge for me.  If streets or beaches are too crowded, I can’t be on them.  I’m grateful my kids are understanding and don’t make me feel any worse about it.  Our county lifted the mask mandate and the governor has shoved the state into Phase 3.  This worries me.  Actually, this scares me.  Having a background in science and having spent over a year in treatment gives me a unique perspective on this.  I cannot risk catching this.  The prospect of having to send my kids back into a school building would seal my fate for sure.  I’m not ready to die.


Two years have come and gone from my diagnosis, it squeaked by in the middle of still getting settled into a new home in a new state, virtual learning for two teenagers and an overall busy life.  Celebrating it was just me and no, it isn’t celebrating the diagnosis, it is celebrating the fact I survived the absolute insanity that followed suit.


Soon, it will be two years from my double mastectomy, where, in theory, I became cancer free.  Everything was removed.  The tumor was very well contained and lymph nodes were removed.  Even though one node came back positive, it was doubtful it went beyond that.  Why all that chemo then?  One node is one node so chemotherapy is the normal protocol.  Will I celebrate myself that day as well? You bet your I ass I will!  Those days and celebrations are much needed reminders of just how strong I am.  Cancer and chemotherapy ain’t no walk in the park.  In fact, I think all pink sisters deserve to be celebrated and reminded of their strength and that they are loved for the month of October, no matter where they are in the cancer journey.  

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2018 by Adding By Subtraction. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook
bottom of page